Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Did you have piano lessons as a child?

Piano lessons as a child?  

88 members have voted

1. 1. Did you have at least 12 months' of piano instruction before you reached the age of 18?

• Yup
    • Nope
    • It's complicated

I had 9 years of private classical piano as a child. Then I started playing non-classical music. But that obviously has defined who I am as a keyboard player, and I'm curious who else here on the forum comes from a similar background. I realize some of you had formal organ training, some formal training on another instrument, others are self-taught. 

But I'm specifically wondering who has childhood piano instruction in their past, and curious if that ends up self-defining ourselves as pianists, so to speak.

• Like 1

I had a year of piano lessons when I was seventeen from a teacher who had her doctorate in performance from Juilliard. I still remember some of what she taught me almost fifty years later, but I fortunately forgot most of it. 😀

Hi Tim

Our stories seem to parallel a bit. 
I began formal lessons when I was 7 at the Fine Arts Building in Chicago. 
I, too, took lessons for 9 years before we moved to Tucson.  

While my classical chops are really poor now, that background has made it possible for me to do what I do now.  Especially the theory part, and overall good dexterity. 
I still pull out the old Hannon book  to keep the fingers loose 

David

Gig Rig:Depends on the day :thu: