Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: How "Tech Savvy" Are You?

Synthoid

I attended a luncheon this past weekend with a large number of seniors. (I haven't reached retirement age yet, although it's looming on the horizon). Anyway, I was surprised at the amount of people at our table that didn't own a computer, and I felt like a teenager when my smartphone beeped a few times. Most of them would have been surprised if I'd have discussed what I do for a living (graphic design and internet marketing.)

But it made me wonder a bit about today's technology and how many of us embrace it. A good friend of the family built my first computer in 1992 and taught me all about it. Between the two of us, we upgraded everything over the next couple of years. I was very fortunate.

Fast forward many years. I have to confess I wasn't sure what to do with an iPad when I first picked one up, but it didn't take long to figure it out with the help of an Apple Store employee. And when I bought my first smartphone I received a quick tutorial from the assistant manager at the Verizon store. Piece of cake. But some folks just don't "get it." That's OK, but a bit sad that they have little interest in technology. If they do own a computer or smartphone, all they do is complain how confusing it is. Plenty of online resources are available, but they don't bother. I remember when my sister-in-law's phone crashed and she lost all her pictures. I asked her if they were backed up anywhere and she said "no."

Well anyway, back to my initial question--How "Tech Savvy" are you? Have you turned your OS inside out, replaced a hard drive, or written your own apps? Or would you rather just bash your computer and eat a pizza... :laugh:

When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply