Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Foreplay tips?

Ha! If you're gonna make a joke.about the thread title, go ahead, but real.advice first. I'm not an expert player and the band wants to do foreplay/longtime.

Any good tips for learning this intro? I don't know how to read music.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Consider one of the programs that slows down the music (but keeps the pitch the same), such as The Amazing Slow Downer. It costs money to buy the complete program, but if I recall correctly you can download an evaluation version that will allow you to work on the first three minutes of a song for free--should be enough to get you through the beastly part at the beginning. There's another program that's entirely free, but I can't remember the name of it and the audio quality isn't as good. By now there are probably more programs like that. It's been a while since I've looked.

Or...you can do what I've done in the past and get the sheet music and pen in the note names on a hard copy. No, it's not "sight reading" and it's tedious as hell, but it'll get you there. I'm slowly learning to read sheet music, but I still can't sight read in the sense that I can just sit down and play something from a sheet of paper. All things in time--I just need more time to work on this.

Grey

I'm not interested in someone's ability to program. I'm interested in their ability to compose and play.

There"s a video on YouTube with the track isolated. Put it into a slow down app with looping capabilities, budget a buncha hours of woodshedding, and you"re off to the races. Start slow and gradually bring the speed up. The speed is the killer.

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8