Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Gigging with older gear.

Chris Towns

Hi,

I am not a pro player, I play for my own enjoyment at home. I have a Casio PX5-S and a Korg PA4X arranger keyboard (probably around $4,000 U.S. retail).

Recently I visited Las Vegas, and on the Strip in the corner of one of the Hotels is a bar called Duelling Piano's. They have two Grand piano's facing opposite each other which both had all the innards removed, and where the keyboards are they had replaced them with digital stage pianos. I inspected the stage pianos during the interval and noted they were Yamaha, but probably ten years old or more. I noticed during the performance that the piano sample was not very accurate. Despite that the player gave a magnificent performance, he could play superbly, was a great singer and a great entertainer.

I also stayed with my wife several years ago in Mexico at one of those enormous all inclusive Hotels (it had twelve restaurants). The resident band had a keyboard player with an electric piano that must have been over twenty years old (not weighted, and two missing notes and two broken notes. He was also a very accomplished musician.

Is it common for gigging musicians to use such antiquated equipment ? I understand many Forum members have state of the art equipment, but are us Forum members an exception to the rule ?

In respect of the Las Vegas pianist, it's easy to pick up a current basic digital piano for around £400 UK, $500 US, cheaper if you buy a one year old used model that would have an infinitely better piano sample, producing a more authentic sound.

I would be interested in other gigging members opinions.

Chris

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply