Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Pieces you wish you could play perfectly?

Mickey Keys

I've been playing for many years, self-taught which has unfortunately left me with a lot of bad habits I now don't have the patience to UNlearn. However, I've been in a few bands and am currently in a pretty darn good one; people obviously think I'm a lot better than I think I am.

So OK, I'm going to really blow my cover here...

Regardless of your favorite genre of music or your current band's song list, is there a piece of piano/keyboard music that, if you finally nailed it, could die happy?

This admission is kinda embarassing because I see 12-year olds doing it nearly perfectly on YouTube-

Mine is Billy Joel's Root Beer Rag.

For some reason, I'm just not there yet, but damn it, I will be one day.

-Mike

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Chopin Etudes Op. 10 and 25....close to or at original metronome markings.

Bach Well-Tempered Clavier Books I and II.

Debussy Etudes.

Ravel Toccata from Le Tombeau de Couperin.

Blues in F

Rhythm changes in Bb

Very Early-Bill Evans

Giant Steps/26-2/Moments Notice/Lazy Bird.

https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

https://www.youtube.com/@daveferris2709

2005 NY Steinway D, Yamaha AvantGrand N3X, CP88, P515

... Regardless of your favorite genre of music or your current band's song list, is there a piece of piano/keyboard music that, if you finally nailed it, could die happy? ...

Nope. Too much great music, not enough time in two lifetimes.

And I predict that once you nail Root Beer Rag, you'll say to yourself "that wasn't actually as hard as I thought it was going to be. I bet with some practice I could play ....

and you'll be off on another quest and completely forget to die happy.

Larry.