Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

There is no perfect ban...

13 hours ago, ABECK said:

Mummy funk - now I've seen it all.  At least they don't have to spend time worrying about what to wear on gig nights.  

The funk is strong with them, love the music. The bari sax is a freaking treat.  But mostly I'm just so tickled that they go the extra mile for the gag. 

9 hours ago, Dave Weiser said:

The funk is strong with them, love the music. The bari sax is a freaking treat.  But mostly I'm just so tickled that they go the extra mile for the gag. 

I appreciate anyone putting effort into the "Show" of a gig.  As a young musician, I was adamant that the music should do ALL the talking.  I've changed on that quite a bit.  Gimme something to look at while I'm enjoying the tunes.

• Like 2

During an extended vamp at a Zappa concert, Tommy Mars ran out front in purple briefs and neck sash to do a vaguely disturbing and FUNNY free-form improvisational dance. After a bit, Frank gave him a Look, so he did a big stage-cringe, crept back to his keys on hands & knees, popped up and took up seamlessly with the music. I always enjoyed the big Yes and Floyd stage shows, but Frank's band WAS the show. I love those incredible memories. :rocker:

"I like that rapper with the bullet in his nose!"
 "Yeah, Bulletnose! One sneeze and the whole place goes up!"
       ~ "King of the Hill"

I attended and graduated from the Hartt School at the University of Hartford in West Hartford, CT in the early 70's. Tommy Mariano (aka Tommy Mars) was a legendary figure during those years at the conservatory.

Once during a concert of John Cage music, he performed one indeterminate Cage work on a solo Fender Rhodes Suitcase 73. When he was done, he reached up to a small Tensor Lamp that stood atop the Rhodes. He proceeded to turn it off in a dimly-lit, large-scale rehearsal hall for effect. Awe inspiring...