Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Any Keyboardists Here who Also Play Bass?

I've been playing keys/piano - my primary instrument - for around 40 years now. I also play bass (5-string, 4-string, fretless and upright), which I consider my 2nd instrument. Been playing that for almost 29 years now.

I picked up the bass in the Summer of 1995 partly out of frustration from working with certain bass players who drove me crazy doing things like overplaying, not putting fills in the right places, lack of pocket, resisting playing a 5-string, etc. I figured, if I complained that much, I might as well learn to play the bass my own damn self. So, having just graduated from college at the time, with my 2nd paycheck from my first job out of college, I bought a Musicman Stingray5 bass from a local bass store that was on consignment for $800. I spent the next 6 weeks woodshedding for 3 hours every day after work putting on my favorite CDs and playing the basslines from those. I noticed the music ensemble at my church didn't have a bass player, so I asked the musical director if they needed one. Boom, I became a bassist and played in that situation for the next 5 years. I also played bass for a couple cover bands during that time. I can also play guitar and drums, but I stop short of calling myself a "guitarist" or "drummer." But I am a singer, keyboardist and bassist.

So how does this fit in with keyboards? Well, in my early bands back in high school, we had no bass player. The only guy who played bass in my high school was way advanced for us, so I played left hand synth bass on a Casio CZ-101 while my right hand played a Yamaha DX7. It was through that that I subconsciously learned bass concepts like root harmony, groove/pocket, passing tones, etc.