Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Did any of you folks take up piano in later life?

Or have you played since childhood?

I'm not in the first flush of youth (to put it mildly) and I made an attempt at teaching myself piano about a year ago. Sadly, it came to naught. I found it too difficult

11 years ago at the age of 41.  I had noodled a bit before, with some very minimal instruction, but nothing that would amount to more than 2-3 months of beginner lessons and minimal practice ...  Self-taught since starting in mid-life.

• Like 1

Since childhood -- Started piano lessons at 8 or 10 years old, played every day for many years, and I still play some keyboard or another several times a week at age 63.86.  I haven't touched an analog piano in years. 

-Tom Williams

{First Name} {at} AirNetworking {dot} com

PC4-7, PX-5S, AX-Edge, PC361

Depends on your goals and expectations that you set of yourself. 

I took organ lessons for a couple years as a young teenager, never really got into piano very much until my wife had her parent's piano shipped from their house to ours in our 30's.  She took piano lessons as a kid, and got our kids to take lessons for a year or two, neither of them stuck with it.  I noodled around on that piano (about the way you would expect an organ player to sound on a piano 🙂 but I had fun with it). Wife got tired of the piano taking up space in the family room so she sold it and I bought a $400 Casio with MIDI which I use to drive a NanoPiano. Good enough for me. When I'm not playing organ I still noodle around on the piano and have a ton of fun.  I could probably get away with playing piano in a low-key wedding band if I wanted to, I've played in jams with friends for the past 10-20 years.  I suit myself.  I will never be a classical pianist and that's actually OK because I can't stand the sound of classical piano tunes personally!