Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Motion Sound KP500-SN - Third Time's a Charm?

Mitch Towne

Cavet: I am not an endorsing artist for Motion Sound so you don't need to apply any endorsing artist trigonometry to my review in order to get a cumulative honesty score.

As the Space Station thread barrels towards 200 pages, with talk of external subs and "bloom," I decided, after trying the SS and finding it to be woefully underpowered for anything other than a cocktail gig, to go to the Motion Sound well for a third time.

Some background: I tried out one of the early models of the KP500-sn when they were first released a few years ago. I found it harsh and unappealing. The cooling fan was really loud. I returned it. Then, a couple years later, I heard about design improvements and purchased another one. This was much better. The sound was warmer and the fan was much quieter. I used it for a couple years, but reached to a place in my gigging life where I was doing so many organ gigs with a Leslie and not playing much EP or synth that I decided to sell it (probably because I was looking to fund the purchase of another organ or Leslie or some such thing).

In the last year, I have been gigging more and more with EPs and other sounds that would greatly benefit from a stereo field. At one point in my career, I lugged a couple QSC K12s to gigs, but screw that. That takes forever to hook up and takes up a huge stage footprint. So, I had been using one EV speaker, but, as I said, that is limiting sound wise. No creamy stereo tremolo on the Rhodes patches. No swirly Leslie effects.

So, after seeing if the guy I sold my KP500-sn to wanted to sell it back (he didn't), I bit the bullet and bought a new one from Sweetwater.

I don't regret it at all. If you search the Keyboard Mag forum, you will probably find my old review of the KP500. Pretty much everything I was happy about then, I am happy about now as well.