Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I am tired of Sonar - I want a new DAW...?

Bansaw

Sonar just ticked me off one too many times.

Its buggy and awkward. I am looking for a new DAW.

I am toying with the idea of Reaper.

Here's my profile:

* I am a home producer, looking to enjoy making music

* I have a number of VSTs (MOTU ethno, symphonic etc)

* I am looking to create music beds to go under videos

* I want a sequencer in the program that is easy to use

* I dont want a bulky program with a massive amount of features I might not use

* I want to navigate and manipulate clips easily

* I am not averse to using loops

Any comments?

Reaper, i7-7700k, Win10, 16GB, 2TB, 500Mb SSD, MOTU Ethno & Symphonic, Studiologic 990Xp 88-key, Behringer UM2

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

To make background music for videos, you mainly want a big library of loops that you can stretch to your desired tempos, right? Then build little sequences, patterns around that with a nice collection of instruments ("real" and synthetic).

Try Sequel 3 from Steinberg,

http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/sequel/start.html

Very much like GarageBand on Mac OSX with tons of loops, midi patterns, included. Plus loads of sounds and it can also host your VSTs. Very simple to use, and lots of video tutorials. No advanced features. It's very basic.

Only downside is copy protection. But if you're a legit user using it on one PC, should be no problem.

Yamaha CP88, Casio PX-560

+1 on Sequel. You may want to look at Cubase Elements as well. It would be more like Sonar, yet there would be an upgrade path if you wanted more features later via Artist or the full Monty.

Hardware:
Yamaha
: MODX7 | Korg: Kronos 88, Wavestate | ASM: Hydrasynth Deluxe | Roland: Jupiter-Xm, Cloud Pro, TD-9K V-Drums | Alesis: StrikePad Pro|
Behringer: Crave, Poly D, XR-18, RX1602 | CPS: SpaceStation SSv2 |