Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 13 1 2 3 4 12 13
Re: New Roland Fantom
stoken6 #3006722 09/05/19 06:15 PM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 685
T
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
T
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 685
Semi weighted keys with aftertouch, nice. But weight, size and price are hefty.

KC Island
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006732 09/05/19 07:09 PM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
S
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
S
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
This is the first Roland in a long time that has me excited. I used to love my JV2080 back in the day. I had an FA06 for a while but didn’t like the keybed or the midi implementation (understand that may have improved with updates). This looks like it could be a real the heart of a rig


Nord Stage 2EX | Nord Wave | Mainstage | Key Largo
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006739 09/05/19 08:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Wow, am I late...just came here to post about this. crazy

Glad someone is releasing a new workstation! I agree it looks similar to the Montage. I don't like the red on the back, but hey, that's just an aesthetic. Hopefully the specs aren't too watered down. Also hoping for complete midi implementation. Wish it were a bit lighter but it's still two pounds lighter than the Montage 88. rawk


Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Kurzweil: PC3
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465/WCOC Reed Organ/Allen ADC-220/Accordions
Re: New Roland Fantom
Aperkeys #3006741 09/05/19 08:09 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 1,217
Likes: 20
Originally Posted by Aperkeys
Finally. Yet, did I miss - NO user Multisamples???


Regular samples though...maybe they can add that later.

"Sampler
Format
16-bit linear, 44.1/48kHz, WAV/AIFF import supported
Maximum Polyphony
8
Number of Samples
16 Pads x 4 Banks"

Wondering about this "Zen Core" sound engine...


Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Kurzweil: PC3
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465/WCOC Reed Organ/Allen ADC-220/Accordions
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006743 09/05/19 08:25 PM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,294
Likes: 3
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,294
Likes: 3
Totally irrelevant, but my OCD hates how they use inconsistent typography for the product logo. Caps except for the n and m? I’m sure it’s intentional, because that’s not something that would slip through the cracks. Weird how only the FA seem intended as Caps, but the T and O are still caps even though they are slightly smaller. Or it’s like the FA are a different font, but that still doesn’t explain the mismatch of the nTOm.

Last edited by zephonic; 09/05/19 08:29 PM.
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006746 09/05/19 08:34 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,222
Likes: 3
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 6,222
Likes: 3
According to Factmag, Zen Core is a mix of PCM samples and virtual analog modeling. So I guess it's the latest iteration of Roland's D-50 synthesis technology, presumably more capable in 2019 than the late 1980s version.

https://www.factmag.com/2019/09/05/roland-mc-707-mc-101-groovebox-announced/

MusicRadar also has an article but that site has proven to be unreliable.

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006750 09/05/19 09:21 PM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,033
Likes: 4
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,033
Likes: 4
Reading up on this new line of workstations, the word ‘Supernatural’ is nowhere to be found. 🤔


The fact there's a Highway To Hell and only a Stairway To Heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers

People only say "It's a free country" when they're doing something shitty-Demetri Martin
Re: New Roland Fantom
EscapeRocks #3006753 09/05/19 10:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 2
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 166
Likes: 2
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍

I especially like this

Doesn't mean that they will necessarily be class compliant - i wouldn't be surprised to find them to be specific to certain Roland products, same as the USB device connectors on the MX-1 mixer.

- Jimbo


"It's called an expression pedal for a reason: It's not a volume pedal." -- Dr. Lonnie Smith
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006754 09/05/19 10:14 PM
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,011
Likes: 31
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 8,011
Likes: 31
Liking the two pair of stereo sub outs.

And the built in audio interface, 3 USB ports for external controllers, inclusion of 5 pin MIDI...


Live: Casio PX-560, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Yamaha S90ES
Re: New Roland Fantom
Synthaholic #3006757 09/05/19 10:24 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,525
Likes: 8
Platinum Member
Online Sad
Platinum Member
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,525
Likes: 8
Originally Posted by Synthaholic
Reading up on this new line of workstations, the word ‘Supernatural’ is nowhere to be found. 🤔

Hmm. Although it was non-programmable, the Supernatural violin on my long-gone AX-Synth was pretty amazing. Bummer that SN didn't seem to blossom.


-Tom Williams
<First name><At>AirNetworking<dot>com
PC361, PX-5S, AX-Edge
M-Audio Keystation 88, Axiom 61
Re: New Roland Fantom
Tom Williams #3006762 09/05/19 11:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,050
Likes: 2
B
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
B
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,050
Likes: 2
The Stereo Analog filters sound really warm and lush with the new sound engine.

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006764 09/05/19 11:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,535
Likes: 17
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,535
Likes: 17
Originally Posted by RABid
I'm more interested in knowing if they integrated the organ.

Yes, check the video at about 1:20, he says the sliders double as organ drawbars.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ELYQKUdIayg

This makes it one of the few boards that can give you simultaneous control to organ drawbars and a battery of real-time synth controls... i.e. arguably a pretty decent functional competitor to a Nord Stage, if you can deal with the added weight.

Originally Posted by ElmerJFudd
The V-Piano is an engine here yes?
So they don’t need multisamples for the pianos it would seem.

Right, V-Piano is modeled. I'm sure there are also plenty of multisampled sounds in the Fantom, though at this point user samples do not seem to support multisamples.

Originally Posted by jeffinpghpa
At the end of the day, I can't yet clearly summarize what this allows me to do that I can't do with my FA-07.

Well, it will have a different sound set. But in terms of other differences, it has aftertouch, touchscreen, metal build, better action, internal power supply, far greater number of real-time controls (including endless encoders with LED indicators, sliders with LED indicators, dedicated synth controls), analog filter, sophisticated Logic/Mainstage integration, full patch remain when switching among all sounds, a lot more rear panel connectivity, 2 GB sample space, more MIDI controller zone functions, motional pad to transition between sounds... that's what I see so far. ;-) Sequencer looks like it could be more capable, but I don't know much about that side of things.

Originally Posted by ElmerJFudd
What happened to Roland being the value for your $ synth manufacturer? ouch.

Hmm. Well, they haven't had high-end models since they discontinued the Fantom G, but were their older Fantoms priced more aggressively than competitive Yamaha/Korg/Kurzweil workstations? I don't remember.

Originally Posted by rickzjamm
Also borrows from the Kronos (now almost everybody has jumped on the touch screen bandwagon & about time). Love Roland sounds & the configuration looks intuitive but it gained weight, not a gigging board.

The 61 is in the same range as a Kronos or Montage, and may be tolerable in the low 30s. But the 88 is for pros with roadies and backline companies. For the rest of us, I think it's likely to be a stay-at-home board. But I think that's largely true of the other 88 key flagships as well. Anyway, I'm glad it's heavy. Otherwise I might be tempted to buy one. ;-)

Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Anyway, my initial though is.... I want one

They've finally come out with the kind of board you've been looking for!

Originally Posted by zephonic
I remember the Fantom X didn’t have audio recording at first, that was added with the 2.0 update. So adding multi-sampling with an update sounds possible to me.

They added multisampling to the Juno DS with its 2.0 update, too. The 2 GB of memory certainly supports it, they probably just need more time for the software.



Last edited by AnotherScott; 09/06/19 12:54 PM.

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: New Roland Fantom
stoken6 #3006783 09/06/19 01:14 AM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,593
Likes: 25
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,593
Likes: 25
Originally Posted by stoken6
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍


I especially like this


I saw that. Yamaha P125 under a Fantom 6 or 7 is a sweet rig (assuming the organs are up to scratch) although a bit heavy for a top board.

Cheers, Mike.


I used to haul my Fantom X6 all over so I can deal.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61mk2 | Mac Mini | Gig Performer

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006800 09/06/19 03:36 AM
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 459
Likes: 11
N
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
N
Joined: Jan 2015
Posts: 459
Likes: 11
I am looking for my next "main" board to support multi-sampling. Currently the Forte is leading. I intend to heavily sample sounds I've made in the studio for playing out, and so the Montage/Forte/Kronos seem to be the players in that space.

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006816 09/06/19 07:05 AM
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 388
Likes: 2
BRW Offline
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Oct 2012
Posts: 388
Likes: 2
The price is way off, but this has lots of good stuff in it. The V-Piano, the USB power ports, the impressive Logic / Mainstage integration and most importantly - a proper sequencer with three different approaches to it.

I think it's funny how much it really does look like the MONTAGE. And at least based on the Tibbs Guitar Center demo, there seems to be some sort of "motion sequencing" going on in the Fantom as well (although nowhere near that deep, it seems).

it's funny that now all the major three manufacturers are in a sense using the same "grid style" GUI. First the Kronos, then the MONTAGE and now this. And at least the latter two are also always in "performance mode" - although Roland has been doing it a bit longer, since the Jupiter-80 I think.

Hate the red stripe on the back!!

Re: New Roland Fantom
JimboKeys #3006818 09/06/19 07:37 AM
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
S
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
S
Joined: Aug 2019
Posts: 36
Originally Posted by JimboKeys
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍

I especially like this

Doesn't mean that they will necessarily be class compliant - i wouldn't be surprised to find them to be specific to certain Roland products, same as the USB device connectors on the MX-1 mixer.

- Jimbo


The manual online is incomplete but it does say on the connections page: -

"EXT DEVICE jack (1, 2, 3) Connect these to an external USB device."

so there is hope...


Nord Stage 2EX | Nord Wave | Mainstage | Key Largo
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006819 09/06/19 07:59 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,367
Likes: 16
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,367
Likes: 16
It'll be interesting to see if the Fantom technology trickles down to some form of FA 06 successor.

Last edited by Morizzle; 09/06/19 08:34 AM.

It's not a clone, it's a Suzuki.
Re: New Roland Fantom
Morizzle #3006822 09/06/19 08:22 AM
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,294
Likes: 3
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 4,294
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by Morizzle
It'll be interesting to see if the Fantom technology trickles down to some form of FA 06 predecessor.


Of course it will. 18-24 months from now. And I assume you mean successor?

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006823 09/06/19 08:26 AM
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 685
T
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
T
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 685
I like it a lot that they just surprise us with new instruments without any „coming soon“ teaser bullshit... watch this Kurzweil folks! Hope K’ will speed up their OS 4.0 release before I‘ll take a closer look to the new Forte rival.

Last edited by TomKittel; 09/06/19 08:32 AM.

Home: Yamaha N2, Kurzweil PC3X, Roland SE02, Alpha Juno 1/2, JX8P, Matrix 1000, DAW Studio One, Pianoteq, VB3 and too many VST instruments
Stage: Forte 7, Nord Stage 3, KP500S or RCF TT08a
Re: New Roland Fantom
zephonic #3006824 09/06/19 08:35 AM
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,367
Likes: 16
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,367
Likes: 16
Originally Posted by zephonic
Originally Posted by Morizzle
It'll be interesting to see if the Fantom technology trickles down to some form of FA 06 predecessor.


Of course it will. 18-24 months from now. And I assume you mean successor?


Oh yeah. Too early over here... facepalm


It's not a clone, it's a Suzuki.
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006831 09/06/19 12:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,235
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1,235
I much preferred the FA to my MODX. I think I just like Roland. I love the red and the aluminium. If they’re electro mechanical sounds are up to scratch I can see myself GASing for it. Assuming you can run the organ out a separate output to put through a Lester K or something.


Nord E4 SW73
Yamaha MODX7
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006834 09/06/19 01:17 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,315
M
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
M
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,315
My first board ever was a Roland, i’m emotionally attached to the brand - for some things that “Roland sound” is just great. This looks really sweet for function and capability - it also looks absolutely ginormous! Holy crap it looks huge in every direction possible. I didnt check weight specs, i assume its heavy too. I’d be a 7 customer so expecting in the 40 lb ballpark which means it needs (imo) a sturdy case so another 30-40 lbs for case.


The baiting I do is purely for entertainment value. Please feel free to ignore it.
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006840 09/06/19 01:43 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
Also seeing a lot of Dexibell approach in this (yes, Dexibell is a spawn of Roland alumni).


Be inspired & inspire others.
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006849 09/06/19 02:18 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,593
Likes: 25
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,593
Likes: 25
Just checked the specs regarding weight.

The new Fantom 6 is 33lbs. The old Fantom G6 was 32lbs.

Also, I may be in very big trouble: The usual suspects have them in stock. Now. My wallet just went into hiding....


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61mk2 | Mac Mini | Gig Performer

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006856 09/06/19 03:17 PM
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 41
Likes: 1
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Jul 2019
Posts: 41
Likes: 1
This looks pretty awesome, except....I can't believe it doesn't have at least the multi-sampling ability of the Juno DS series. They added that feature later as an update for the DS line. That's all I ever wanted with the FA series, but of course they've never added it, so I've never bought one.

They're so close with this new Fantom. Looks like a great board, but typical of Roland it has a big WTF hovering over it.

Give us all the beans Roland. Not everyone wants to use this tied to a DAW or Mainstage. For the size, weight & price tag it should be fully capable of everything in a standalone setup.

Here's to hoping....again.

Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006857 09/06/19 03:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
I was in the process of selling a couple of boards to buy... think I know the answer.


Be inspired & inspire others.
Re: New Roland Fantom
zephonic #3006859 09/06/19 03:47 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Likes: 20
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 4,323
Likes: 20
Originally Posted by zephonic
Totally irrelevant, but my OCD hates how they use inconsistent typography for the product logo. Caps except for the n and m? I’m sure it’s intentional, because that’s not something that would slip through the cracks. Weird how only the FA seem intended as Caps, but the T and O are still caps even though they are slightly smaller. Or it’s like the FA are a different font, but that still doesn’t explain the mismatch of the nTOm.

The Montage aesthetic, yet again!

My OCD hates how they’ve never spelled phantom correctly.


Rod
Here at home we'll play in the city
Powered by the sun
Perfect weather for a streamlined world
There'll be spandex jackets, one for everyone
Re: New Roland Fantom
SteveUK #3006862 09/06/19 03:56 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,087
Likes: 49
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 6,087
Likes: 49
Originally Posted by SteveUK
Originally Posted by JimboKeys
Originally Posted by EscapeRocks
Originally Posted by SteveUK
3 USB sockets for external controllers looks pretty tasty 👍

I especially like this

Doesn't mean that they will necessarily be class compliant - i wouldn't be surprised to find them to be specific to certain Roland products, same as the USB device connectors on the MX-1 mixer.

- Jimbo


The manual online is incomplete but it does say on the connections page: -

"EXT DEVICE jack (1, 2, 3) Connect these to an external USB device."

so there is hope...


The Anderton Music demo in the OP says all three are class-compliant and specifically mentions controlling the OP1 and Seaboard.


Eric
Website
Rhodes Mk 1 Stage 73; Kurzweil SP-6; Roland FP-4, Juno-106; Nord Stage 3C; Studiologic Sledge; DSI Mopho KB; Moog Minitaur; Stuff
Re: New Roland Fantom
Konnector #3006872 09/06/19 04:37 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,535
Likes: 17
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 14,535
Likes: 17
Originally Posted by N4dr0j
Assuming you can run the organ out a separate output to put through a Lester K or something.

Yes, there are two stereo Sub Outs.

Originally Posted by Konnector
I can't believe it doesn't have at least the multi-sampling ability of the Juno DS series. They added that feature later as an update for the DS line. That's all I ever wanted with the FA series, but of course they've never added it, so I've never bought one.

It is a shame it never came to the FA. I'm guessing the hardware (i.e. sufficient usable rewritable flash) wasn't there to support it. (Though I had thought that maybe they could repurpose the memory for one of the two slots, giving users a choice as to whether to use that memory for a second expansion or custom samples.) Anyway, the Fantom has 2 GB, so I'd be surprised if we didn't see the multisampling added down the road.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: New Roland Fantom
gino #3006874 09/06/19 05:06 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 819
Likes: 3
And I'm sure the Axial toolbox will bring some nice organs, brass etc. in the future. Roland's been pretty good about freebie sounds & OS updates.


Be inspired & inspire others.
Page 2 of 13 1 2 3 4 12 13

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4