Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Which Leslie to search for?

Lou_NC

Ive been playing organ for 40+ years, for my own pleasure. I play mostly in my family room at home, occasionally with friends at work, and sometimes at my church. I have a Hammond XK-3 and play through a Ventilator into stereo speaker setups whenever possible. Ive never owned a Leslie, came close a few times but all were hundreds (or thousands) of miles away, and I couldnt get to them in time for numerous reasons.

Im approaching retirement, and decided that one way or another, Im going to own a Leslie before I leave this earth! My thinking has been to try to find a 142/145 and park it in my family room, and continue to play the vent when away from home. Oh, and I play bass pedals, so ideally Id like to have both a home and away setup that has the bass capability of a traditional Leslie cabinet.

Here's a few questions. Im thinking of buying a 3300 since theyre still available new (with free shipping to my door). I read some reviews on the 3300 that claim the bass is lacking compared to a 122. (Not sure how that relates to the smaller 142/145). I dont have any way to audition these things side by side, and Id hate to pull the trigger on a new 3300 knowing that I might be compromising on bass. Has anyone done an A/B comparison between a vintage Leslie and a 3300, and found that the bass is equal? If not equal, how good is the 3300?

If I end up with a 3300 (assuming the bass is good), Im pretty much done, since I can use it at home and away from home. But if I end up with a 145 or other vintage cabinet at home, I still need/want a portable setup that is 1) stereo, and 2) has bass capability as close as possible with a 122 or 145. Ive been thinking about combining a SSv3 with a powered subwoofer, but not sure which sub would work best to clone the response of a Leslie. Any suggestions based on personal experience with this?