Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

good quality 2-tier x-stands a dying breed?

zephonic

I can see the jokes coming ("good quality x-stands? isn't that an oxymoron?" :rimshot: ), but frankly, I have used X-stands all my life and never have had any problems with them until this year.

I had been using a ProLine two-tier stand since 2011 until one of the plastic knobs developed a crack earlier this year. So I bought a Quiklok QL-642, but one of the upper-tier arms came loose last week.

That QL was a disappointment in terms of build quality, anyway; the teeth of the locking wheels didn't line up perfectly, meaning the upper tier was never quite straight or flush. It's odd, because I remember the Quiklok stuff I used back in the day in Europe as being much better.

Most of the two-tier x-stands I looked at have limited (or no) adjustability for the top-tier; as far as I can tell, only the Quikloks have that; unfortunately, that seems to come at the expense of reliability.

Are there any other reliable, fully adjustable, two-tier X-stands I may have overlooked? Thanks.

local: Korg Nautilus 61 AT | Yamaha MODX8

away: GigPerformer | 16" MBP M1 Max

home: Kawai RX-2 | Korg D1 | Roland Fantom X7

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Not an X stand, but I have had very good experience with this:

Standtastic 122 KSB 48" Double-Tier Keyboard Stand with Deluxe Bag

The zipper on the bag got screwed up, and they replaced it for me with no issues.

The space between top and bottom keyboard is locked in from gig to gig and it goes together very quickly.

Korg CX-3 (vintage), Casio Privia PX-5S, Lester K, Behringer Powerplay P2, Shure 215s

http://www.hackjammers.com

Thanks, that looks interesting. I knew about them, but somehow I thought they went out of business a long time ago.

My only concern is the max height of the bottom tier, looks like it would be too low for standing. But maybe I should order one and give it a try.