Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Acus One-5 Wood Amp for keyboard?

Dextroze

Hello,

I'm a french jazz pianist, and i'm starting to get gigs with keyboards... The fact is that I'm not very happy with my Yamaha DXR10, especially for the piano sounds... It sounds like a box :(

A friend told me that this Acus One-5 Wood was very good.

Do you know it ? Or maybe you have good ideas ?

I need something that can me moved easily since I will do this in Paris without a car :)

Thanks a lot guys and girls !!

Nord Electro 6D / Prophet Rev2/ Digitakt / Minilogue / Keyscape -

New video :

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It does look nice and it's light! I checked it out online a little. It's marketed as an "acoustic guitar amp." It's rated at 50 watts (bi-amped: 40 + 10). From specs alone I would not consider this a good amp for a keyboard then again I don't know how loud you need to be at your gigs. Do you do gigs with drums where things can get loud? I don't think this amp would do very well in that situation.

I know I'm gonna be starting some s^&t here but my opinion is that the "boxy" sound you hear is from hearing your piano collapsed to mono, coming out of a single speaker. (You write "my Yamaha DXR10" which suggests singular, not plural). The Yamaha has 700 watts of power. Whether that's peak or not, I'm betting it has a lot more headroom than the Acus. If you play with a lot of dynamics that's a real benefit.

So, I would go with two small powered speakers, placed in back of you on either side. That's what I do (so it has to be the right way, ha ha!). Seriously, I do a lot of jazz gigs and really enjoy the piano sound being "around" me - no boxyness! Then again, I have a car! There are a few lighter active speakers than the DXR10, with good power, and I'm sure everybody on this forum will recommend the ones that they use personally. Good luck.

Ahahaha :D