Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Aretha Performing the National Anthem

HammondDave

An epic performance featuring Hammond, piano, and a lot of soul... and it inspired a new stat:

http://i1232.photobucket.com/albums/ff374/hammonddave/IMG_0108_zpszxaetnki.jpg

'55 and '59 B3's; Leslies 147, 122, 21H; MODX 7+; NUMA Piano X 88; Motif XS7; Mellotrons M300 and M400’s; Wurlitzer 206; Gibson G101; Vox Continental; Mojo 61; Launchkey 88 Mk III; Korg Module; B3X; Model D6; Moog Model D

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Aretha's got some piano chops! Pretty neat seeing that B3 and Leslie on that small stage in the middle of Ford Field! Go Lions!

'57 Hammond B-3, '60 Hammond A100, Leslie 251, Leslie 330, Leslie 770, Leslie 145, Hammond PR-40

Trek II UC-1A

Alesis QSR

She is self taught. I will say I doubt it was rehearsed. If you watch the organ player he was kind of waiting to see what she did. It was cool seeing that Leslie.

"Danny, ci manchi a tutti. La E-Street Band non e' la stessa senza di te. Riposa in pace, fratello"

noblevibes.com

Major news outlets have been talking about that performance.

Like Frank's Red Hot Sauce, the Queen of Soul put that Gospel stank on the National Anthem. :laugh::cool:

PD

"The greatest thing you'll ever learn, is just to love and be loved in return."--E. Ahbez "Nature Boy"

Not generally a fan of over-wrought interpretations of the national anthem, but she's Aretha F***ing Franklin and she can do whatever she wants.

Love the gospel church-sounding combination of piano plus Hammond/Leslie.

aka âmisterdregsâ

Nord Electro 5D 73

Yamaha P105

Kurzweil PC3LE7

Motion Sound KP200S

Schimmel 6-10LE

QSC CP-12

Westone AM Pro 30 IEMs

Rolls PM55P

True story: