Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboards in guitar-based blues

Dr88s

I'm in need of some direction.

To put in context for those who don't know me, I'm an amateur/hobbyist with a long background in classical but I've transitioned to rock in the past 3-4 years. I can play most things from sheet music given enough practice time, but improvisational skills are seriously lacking.

One thing I've never been comfortable with, which my bandmates always seem to expect to be the easiest thing in music, is to play simple 12 bar blues. I get the form. I get the chords. I just can't play anything MEANINGFUL. Holding down 7th chords on organ or rhythmically plunking 7th chords on piano gets old really fast.

I've bought and read many books on blues piano, but just about all of these are geared towards solo boogie woogie or New Orleans style where the piano is up front. I need to fit in with guitar-based blues. I have never found any place where a Huey Smith lick the books all teach would be appropriate.

I have no need to solo or be a rock star. All I ever aim to do is to contribute something meaningful to the band, to make it sound considerably better with me than without. As blues, I consistently fail at this.

Please direct me at some blues artists/ bands with keyboard sidemen to listen to and to try emulate. Bobby Whitlock in Derek and the Dominos springs to mind.

Suggestions please?

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Avoid thick voicings. Often roots and fifths are enough. Use the color tones (3rds, 7ths, altered fifths, etc.) for interest. On piano, high right hand octaves on the root are very effective and can fill a spot that the guitar(s) generally leave open. Listen to piano parts in guitar oriented blues tunes (Stevie Ray, etc.).

Try listening to Billy Preston with Clapton.

Another one, not strictly blues, but the right attitude, is Ian McClagan, in the Small Faces and The Faces.