Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Bassist bass lines vs. organist/pianist bass lines

Josh Paxton

So I've embarked on a mission to get serious about jazz organ, including kicking left-hand bass. I would describe my current left-hand bass skills as "passably decent," but I want to get to the next level (and preferably one or two beyond that).

Toward that end, I have a question for those who have been down this road already: to what degree do you recommend checking out bass players versus organists and pianists who walk bass lines?

My tentative plan is to check out roughly equal amounts of both, since they each have something different to offer. But if anyone has any particular advice in this area, I'm all ears.

• Replies 139
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I recommend transcribing bass lines from Jimmy Smith, Jack McDuff, John Patton, Groove Holmes, Don Paterson, Reuben Wilson, Dr. Lonnie Smith, and Leon Spencer Jr. When I started learning the left hand bass, I transcribed a lot from Tony Monaco's DVD. It was hard because he plays a lot of grace notes, and it was hard to imitate his left hand bass because of it. (By the way, Joey's left hand is very complex as well...)

Once you get used to it, you might want to listen to Ray Brown, Andrew Simpkins, Bob Cranshaw, Ron Carter, and other bass players. I did this to make my left hand bass sound more like real bass playing. So now, I prefer not to have a bass player when I play organ.

Check this out too. http://organfreak.tripod.com/bass.html

This site helps.

58 Hammond B3, 74 Leslie 122, 64 Hammond, A100, 61 Leslie 45, Hammond XK-5 system, Hammond SX Pro, SKX Pro, MAG P-2, etc... owned many others...