Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Gregg Allman Q (Dreams)

Joe Muscara

I'm not very good at picking out Hammond settings and all, but I think I "spotted" this one and I wanted to confirm it.

I was just listening to the studio version of Dreams, and during the low sections such as the beginning of the song, it sounds to me like he's using a chorus/vibrato setting (don't know which one) through a Leslie on slow. Is that correct?

"I'm so crazy, I don't know this is impossible! Hoo hoo!" - Daffy Duck

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply
That´s what I hear too. Some variation of the Jimmy Smith sound, C2 or C3 with 3rd percussion and leslie on slow.

My drawbars go to eleven.

Gear: Roland VR-09, Nord Electro 2 61, Korg CX-3. Hear my music: facebook.com/smokestoneband

Cool! I love it when I have these realizations. Even though I'm getting old, I'm still learning and showing the capacity to interpret information. The doctors would be proud. ;)

"The good news is that once you start piano you never have to worry about getting laid again. More time to practice!" - MOI

I am a huge Greg and ABB fan but I have to admit that Molly Hatchet's version is way better.

I like them both. I've been playing the MH version for years but always wanted to change gears mid-song and kick in ABB version. We also do Stormy Monday too so we really have enough slow blues tunes that we don't need to test my theory.

Hardware:
Yamaha
: MODX7 | Korg: Kronos 88, Wavestate | ASM: Hydrasynth Deluxe | Roland: Jupiter-Xm, Cloud Pro, TD-9K V-Drums | Alesis: StrikePad Pro|
Behringer: Crave, Poly D, XR-18, RX1602 | CPS: SpaceStation SSv2 | 
Controllers: ROLI RISE 49 | Arturia KeyLab Essentials 88, KeyLab 61, MiniLab | M-Audio KeyStation 88 & 49 | Akai EWI USB |
Novation LaunchPad Mini, |