Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Piano players what do you look for in a digital piano action

Gary75

After spending a lot of years playing the organ mainly, Im keen to spend more time on the piano. I have very little knowledge of acoustic pianos and their actions, and what to look for as a good action. I will not be able to fit an acoustic in my house so a digital is the only way, either in a controller or in a digital piano.

I have been using my Casio PX-310 for a year or so now, but apart from the fact it's plastic housing has already come to grief when I punctured it underneath, I find the action too bouncy on it's return and feel it is time to move on. Now I am not sure how much bounce one would expect from a good quality acoustic piano, but trying to do repetitive strikes is not working due to the bounce back.

I am after people who have both acoustics and digitals and what they use. Are their any acoustic piano players here who have used or own a Privia model. It's the bounce which is effecting my playing the most. But being an organ person I have never spent a great deal of money on a quality digital piano with a matching key action.

Have digital piano actions improved over time or can you get a one 10 years old with as good an action as any of the modern counterparts?

I know this is a well worn thread on the best 88 note weighted actions, but trying to search the forum is tricky at the best of times.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have a Yamaha G-2 grand, but I use a Kurzweil K2600X or a Nord Stage 88 for piano in a live setting. Neither of these keybeds adequately approximates a grand piano action, IMHO. In terms of action on a DP, the best I have encountered is the Roland RD-700GX. Try to give one a whirl.

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."

- George Bernard Shaw

I am loving the 700GX action.