Music Player Network
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10
#3090263 03/26/21 03:51 PM
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Wow - the iOS users get all the cool toys (until now)!

https://fb.watch/4tLeLJtJxa/

Please release this, GSi!

Last edited by davinwv; 03/26/21 04:01 PM.
Keyboard Corner Island
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,827
Likes: 212
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 9,827
Likes: 212
Ha nice. If anyone picks it up let us know what latency is like and what model phone you’re running it on.


Live: Yamaha CP88, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k, Casio PX-560
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,968
Likes: 11
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Offline
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,968
Likes: 11
This, sadly, will likely never see the light of day. There's a very good reason there are very few MIDI/Audio options on the Android platform.... and there's no way GSi is going to be able to support every single variant of every single OS and hardware combination out there. It's a nice little experiment (and, if you read closely, you'll see that there is NO commitment to actually release it), but I don't see it making it to production status.

I hope I'm wrong, of course, but I don't see it happening. Happy to have to retract this post at a future date, though. 2thu


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by Sven Golly
This, sadly, will likely never see the light of day. There's a very good reason there are very few MIDI/Audio options on the Android platform.... and there's no way GSi is going to be able to support every single variant of every single OS and hardware combination out there. It's a nice little experiment (and, if you read closely, you'll see that there is NO commitment to actually release it), but I don't see it making it to production status.

I hope I'm wrong, of course, but I don't see it happening. Happy to have to retract this post at a future date, though. 2thu

Sub-10ms RT audio latency on Android will definitely happen sooner versus later:

https://9to5google.com/2021/03/05/google-android-audio-latency/

I currently play IKMs iGrand & iLectric on my Pixel 4XL with that type of latency, but this is a flagship phone. The Samsung S10e in the test video is far from flagship specs, but it seems to be working fine.

I don't want to start a platform war here, but this is largely a perception issue with mobile music software developers. Much the same as the old "you need a Mac for music" argument was. We see how that turned out . . .

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
Originally Posted by davinwv
The Samsung S10e in the test video is far from flagship specs, but it seems to be working fine.
Samsung has long been better for MIDI than the typical Android phone, see for example...

https://www.synthtopia.com/content/2014/10/02/samsung-real-time-audiomidi-solution-for-android/

... and that's from 2014. I think the problem there has been that developers haven't wanted to commit resources to develop Android apps that only work well on one brand of phone. If Google makes that kind of performance more useful, that should help. But Apple does have a 10 year jump on them. (CoreMIDI became part of iOS with version 5, which came out in 2011.)

Originally Posted by davinwv
Much the same as the old "you need a Mac for music" argument was. We see how that turned out . . .
It turned out as expected. You can fuss with a PC, or have it "just work" on a Mac. ;-)


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Originally Posted by davinwv
The Samsung S10e in the test video is far from flagship specs, but it seems to be working fine.
Samsung has long been better for MIDI than the typical Android phone, see for example...

https://www.synthtopia.com/content/2014/10/02/samsung-real-time-audiomidi-solution-for-android/

... and that's from 2014. I think the problem there has been that developers haven't wanted to commit resources to develop Android apps that only work well on one brand of phone. If Google makes that kind of performance more useful, that should help. But Apple does have a 10 year jump on them. (CoreMIDI became part of iOS with version 5, which came out in 2011.)

Originally Posted by davinwv
Much the same as the old "you need a Mac for music" argument was. We see how that turned out . . .
It turned out as expected. You can fuss with a PC, or have it "just work" on a Mac. ;-)

I"ve never "fussed" with my PCs, and they have worked just fine for low latency recording and live performances with no hardware backups for the past 13 years. I'm not missing anything by not being on a Mac, and I haven't even yet made the jump to a TB audio interface yet.

Horses for courses, I guess.

Joined: May 2015
Posts: 562
Likes: 5
R
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
R
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 562
Likes: 5
I wonder if they are developing this so they can offer a cheaper organ module that is based on a cheaper (Samsung) Tablet running Android/Linux and VB3?.

Would make sense from a product development aspect - leverage the mass produced/ cheaper parts of the module to keep costs down, and continue focusing on their excellent skill set in software-based music instrument emulation.

Basically, a (potentially) cheaper GSi Gemini?

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by roygBiv
I wonder if they are developing this so they can offer a cheaper organ module that is based on a cheaper (Samsung) Tablet running Android/Linux and VB3?.

Would make sense from a product development aspect - leverage the mass produced/ cheaper parts of the module to keep costs down, and continue focusing on their excellent skill set in software-based music instrument emulation.

Basically, a (potentially) cheaper GSi Gemini?

You might be correct. This makes a lot of sense.

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
Gemini is a whole lot more than VB3. (And the app has an old version of VB3, besides.)


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 562
Likes: 5
R
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
R
Joined: May 2015
Posts: 562
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Gemini is a whole lot more than VB3. (And the app has an old version of VB3, besides.)

Of course.
But one has to start somewhere when testing proof of principles.
Starting with an older version of VB3 makes sense (if you can't get that to run, good luck with their more advanced software packages).

Anyway, just speculation on my part - I would love to have a VB3 in hardware (speaking as someone that has VB3, VB3 II and also a hardware Burn unit).

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,749
Likes: 79
J
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
Has been warned....
MP Hall of Fame Member
J
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,749
Likes: 79
Vb3 is super good. But it has a couple of problems like how the distortion is gainstaged. It makes it hard to get the right amount of overdrive without this crackling. Usually using the expression and drive I can get something I can use but if it were done better it would be awesome.

But. I believe the post said the android version wasn't vb3 or Vb3II but some sort of vb3.3 . That's alot of work to do to not end up releasing it. I just hope the distortion is better.

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
He is going to release it. Posted this morning on facebook:
Quote
It's running in the iPhone simulator! We're struggling to have it run on a real iPad... it's a first for us, but if things won't get harder than this, we might decide to release it for both platforms. Right now, we have decided to release it for Android. It will use "Oboe" which is a system that automatically selects the best latency settings for any compatible Android devices, and on most modern devices the latency is below 10 milliseconds.
I'll be curious to see how he prices it. I wonder if the willingness to develop for mobile was influenced by IK proving that people are willing to pay the same kind of money he charges for desktop apps.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Looks like they will release for Android. And AnotherScott - this post says that VB3m's latency is under 10ms on most modern Android devices:

https://www.facebook.com/532502670174279/posts/3816684415089405/?sfnsn=mo

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
Originally Posted by davinwv
Looks like they will release for Android. And AnotherScott - this post says that VB3m's latency is under 10ms on most modern Android devices
yup, I posted that info in the post above yours. ;-)


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
D
davinwv Offline OP
Gold Member
OP Offline
Gold Member
D
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 966
Likes: 5
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
Originally Posted by davinwv
Looks like they will release for Android. And AnotherScott - this post says that VB3m's latency is under 10ms on most modern Android devices
yup, I posted that info in the post above yours. ;-)

Haha - I posted before I refreshed Chrome.

Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Likes: 11
D
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Likes: 11
Looks like it’s coming to iOS as well.

1 member likes this: drawback
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,348
Likes: 112
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,348
Likes: 112
I'm really starting to dig this. For quick gigs I use my PC3 with the Voce and Vent. I was looking to replace the Voce with an organ module, looking at either HX3, mojo desktop or viscount EXP. HX3 (no drawbars) is the cheapest at $700. I can purchase a separate used phone to run this app, and with an OTP plug connector and a Roland UM-ONE mk2 USB MIDI Interface ( total investment $90) + the cost of the app can replace and upgrade my Voce unit for $200(?) in total. I'm really digging this option....


57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; M-Audio Code 61; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini & Burn
dyinbreedband.com
facebook.com/smokingunsrock
facebook.com/acoustaxx
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Likes: 11
D
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
D
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 115
Likes: 11
I have been thinking about picking up B3X but this is iPad only and isn’t available for phones. It looks like VB3 v2 will be available for phones which is quite important to me as my iPad will be used for controlling my digital mixer. Pretty much all the apps that I’m interested in buying to create a mobile sound module are available for the iPhone with B3X being the exception. I do prefer the sound of B3X but the Rotary in VB3 v2 is certainly a step up form the YC61.
Ideally I would prefer if Yamaha sorted out the rotary in the YC as I really like the overall Hammond sound a lot!

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
Originally Posted by dickiefunk
I have been thinking about picking up B3X but this is iPad only and isn’t available for phones. It looks like VB3 v2 will be available for phones which is quite important to me
Another advantage of this over B3X is that, unlike IK Mutimedia, Guido is responsive to support and feature requests.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
1 member likes this: Doerfler
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
K
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
K
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
Just downloaded. Haven’t tried it out yet with my Legend but sounds great on touch screen.

As of now though, no midi learn. The midi map seems to be not editable.

I downloaded on iOS (phone and iPad)

Also, maybe it's just me and i haven't played vb3 ii in a long time but I like the Leslie on this app much better!

Last edited by kwyn; 04/01/21 01:06 PM.
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Wow amaze-balls, that was fast. I just downloaded too US$13.99 It works on both iPad and iPhone. Yah, no MIDI learn, but, all the CC mappings are neatly listed under the Help tab.

Notes: On my iPhone 7 Plus over LE-MIDI, I’m experiencing small audio glitches that sound like x-runs in Pianoteq (when the CPU gets overloaded). Anyone else getting similar or different results?

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
K
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
K
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
The mappings may be listed, but with the legend where you can't change what is being sent out and on vb3m where I can't change the midi mapping, it's pretty pointless for me right now. I'm sure they'll add midi learn or at least editing in the future though. For now, I can't use it frown

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,348
Likes: 112
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,348
Likes: 112
Originally Posted by kwyn
Just downloaded. Haven’t tried it out yet with my Legend but sounds great on touch screen.

As of now though, no midi learn. The midi map seems to be not editable.

I downloaded on iOS (phone and iPad)

Also, maybe it's just me and i haven't played vb3 ii in a long time but I like the Leslie on this app much better!

do you have the download link? I don't see it.


57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; M-Audio Code 61; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini & Burn
dyinbreedband.com
facebook.com/smokingunsrock
facebook.com/acoustaxx
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
10k Club
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 16,581
Likes: 378
I suppose that, until CCs become editable, if you want to control it from a clone with its own fixed CC drawbar assignments, you could probably use an app like Keystage to remap the incoming MIDI CCs to whatever it is that VB3m wants to see. I know that people have done that to get the Roland VR-09's sysex drawbars to send CCs to B-3X, this should be simpler.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
K
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
K
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 733
Likes: 7
Originally Posted by AnotherScott
I suppose that, until CCs become editable, if you want to control it from a clone with its own fixed CC drawbar assignments, you could probably use an app like Keystage to remap the incoming MIDI CCs to whatever it is that VB3m wants to see. I know that people have done that to get the Roland VR-09's sysex drawbars to send CCs to B-3X, this should be simpler.

I did that for b3x a while back using midiflow but that added substantial latency.

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 5,155
Likes: 188
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 5,155
Likes: 188
Just downloaded and will play with it later. I see it’s just 7 MB, unreal since B-3X is 1.1 GB! There’s quite a bit of work ahead - design/interface shortcomings need some maturity but I have faith that eventually things will come around. Meanwhile I’ll keep on supporting Guido - another bold achievement for one guy.


Rod
”drawback of the Rolands...”— Biggles
2 members like this: SHonka, gg22
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,067
Likes: 92
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Content
MPN Advisory Board
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,067
Likes: 92
Originally Posted by Groove On
.........I just downloaded too US$13.99 It works on both iPad and iPhone.....

From where? I cannot find it on App Store..


There is no luck - luck is simply the confluence of circumstance and co-incidence...

Hope and Disappointment are the same, just spelled differently
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 5,155
Likes: 188
MP Hall of Fame Member
Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 5,155
Likes: 188
Originally Posted by miden
Originally Posted by Groove On
.........I just downloaded too US$13.99 It works on both iPad and iPhone.....

From where? I cannot find it on App Store..

Search for VB3m. First thing needs to be fixed is the avatar.


Rod
”drawback of the Rolands...”— Biggles
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Originally Posted by Groove On
Notes: On my iPhone 7 Plus over BLE-MIDI, I’m experiencing small audio glitches that sound like x-runs in Pianoteq (when the CPU gets overloaded). Anyone else getting similar or different results?
So good news, it plays beautifully on my 1st generation iPad Air, but, on the iPhone 7 Plus, I’m getting audio glitches, like I’m overloading the CPU or something.(through both USB-MIDI and BLE-MIDI). But, it’s works fine on the old iPad!

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Senior Member
Offline
Senior Member
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 392
Likes: 69
Originally Posted by drawback
Originally Posted by miden
Originally Posted by Groove On
.........I just downloaded too US$13.99 It works on both iPad and iPhone.....
From where? I cannot find it on App Store..
Search for VB3m. First thing needs to be fixed is the avatar.

Search for ‘GSi VB3’ in the App Store.

Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Link Copied to Clipboard
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5