Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yet another newbie ; )

Erika

Hi Guys!

I read through all the previous posts from newbies and don't think any of it really applied to what I'm looking for. I'm not a total newbie to keys, I'm just in the dark about Elec. brands & features per model. I'm looking for equipment suggestions. This keyboard will be used for practicing w/ a band & some possible gigging. So here are the features I'd like:

76 keys(88 would be nice)

Weighted or Semi-Weighted keys(touch Sensitive)

Most Importantly - A nice library of sounds quality and quantity - piano, organ, strings(pizzicato strings would be kewl)

What I don't really need or want:

Upgrades, exp. boards & programmmable sequencing/pc or mac interfacing. I'm not much of a programmer/knob tweeking geek. I also doubt I'd upgrade any ROM, etc.

So...price-wise I'm really flexible. I've been looking for used models through craigslist & recycler. I think I'd prefer used so I can afford a better model. Price range could be around $400

more or less, depending on what I'd get. Thanks for any info you might have.

Erika ;) xoxo

• Replies 15
  • Created
  • Last Reply

76 to 88 keys and under $400 is going to be a bit limiting, and will probably leave your best options being used ones...as you've pretty much already surmised.

If you're gonna go that way, then an older Alesis QS7/QS8 (or QS7.1/QS8.1), or maybe something like a Yamaha S08 might fit the bill.

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk:

Professional Affiliations: Royer LabsMusic Player Network

Welcome to the forum Erika. :D

A well thought out first post, I might add. To go along with Dave Bryce's thinking, used would be your only choice to get the features you are looking for. The Casio Prima(sp?) series is a good 88 weighted piano but it doesn't have many other sounds, and they run around $500.