Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

any country keyboard players here?

c4

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If you don't know the genre you're not going to be able to pull it off. Plus even the most patient band will lose it if you don't know the songs, artists...and country goes way back.

And yeah...I play a little country from time to time... ;)

I play country professionally, though I'd rather be playing something else. Country pays the bills.

The way I learned (and I'm far from an expert) was to learn the piano parts note-for-note from the cds. The Nashville studio guys mix up the motifs, some Bruce Hornsby, some Professor Longhair, some Floyd Cramer, though not too much Floyd these days, and good ole Jerry Lee.

Many piano tracks lay under the fingers like the pop piano tracks of the 80s with the aforementioned guys thrown in for fills and solos.

Look for modern country cds with Pig Robbins, Steve Nathan, John Jarvis, Reece Wynans, or Matt Rollings playing the keyboard tracks. If you can cop the basic licks from those guys, you'll be playing country piano.

Good luck.

k.

9 Moog things, 3 Roland things, 2 Hammond things and a computer with stuff on it

I've been in the country gig for the last 4 long years. I previously played "New Mexico" music, Funk, Alternative, and classic rock.

Like Steve said, make sure you know the material. There are some 'standards' which truly are the songs to know. These tend to vary regionally. I often find them, to this day, calling out songs I've never heard. They flash me the key (Thank you Nashville), give me the basic progression, warn me of curve balls, and off we go. My eyes are pretty much riveted to the guitar player's left hand and my ears listening to where the bass player takes me.

Like Ksoper said, those named are pretty much the gurus of country piano playing today.