Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How Do I Know If I'm Any Good?

Andym0908

I've been playing for quite a few years now, some live, mostly home studio only. I've never been trained, and my 'tuition' came from Genesis live concert videos...

But since today I'm not feeling wonderful about my playing, I'm wondering how one would rate themselves?

I can play some Genesis solo's, and for example, the two-handed piano intro to Firth of Fifth, ITC solo, etc...

I think I'm just after an honest answer when someone asks "do you play?", and I answer "yeh, keys", and they ask "you any good?", I never know what to answer to that..

Help, my confidence is in decline!

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Andy,

It's kind've hard to make that kind of determination without actually hearing you. And even so, the answer you get will vary depending on the criteria of each individual listener. All that really matters is if you're enjoying yourself. And if you're not, then maybe you need to raise the bar and set some new challenges for yourself. Do you have professional goals and aspirations, or is music just a hobby? How serious are you about it? Is it your main focus? If not, then just HAVE FUN WITH IT. It's not a competition. Just express yourself through music as artfully as possible.

Great words..

I have done, and intend to have fun with playing (my A90 which I still have!!).

I used to be in and out of bands and am currently trying to get a small duo covers thing going, more for the fun of playing live. It's kind of a hobby, but also I would like to take my ideas somewhere (if only I had the time!! sigh!!).

:cool: