Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Music Materialism

Reminds me of a discussing about music artists and how they divide up between those that just want to make it,  the One and done types.   Then the artistically minded ones who the money is a fringe benefit if it even happens.    I think those two categories go back as long as there has been a music industry.   A lot of the One and Done type end up with normal boring day gig and a musical weekend warrior playing bars and such, or when I worked at the rehearsal studio they'd be in on the weekends to jam and consume mass quantities of beer.     The whole DIY music scene is increasing the number of people who think of themselves as "musicians" and or "producers" but still the mindset of I'm a One and Done or I'm an artist.    I loved the scene in the movie Animal House and John Belushi in his toga coming down the stairs and there is a guy with a nylon string guitar singing a lame folksong to some girls.   Belushi stops, listens for a second, then grabs the guitar and smashes it to pieces.    If that was 2023 the difference would be the lame guy on the stair would have his laptop playing a beat for the girls.  Belushi would stop listen, then smash the laptop and throw it across the room.   

• Haha 2

1 hour ago, Docbop said:

If that was 2023 the difference would be the lame guy on the stair would have his laptop playing a beat for the girls.

Minus the lame part, being able to play an instrument and/or sing very well is a hit with some women.😉

It takes a certain amount of luck to be a one-hit wonder. 

Becoming an *successful* artist or musician requires developing and refining one's craft to the point of commercial viability whether it's acceptance or demand.

For an artist or musician, building an audience or following takes a lot of effort and a certain amount of luck too.😎

PD