Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Played with a Jupiter 80 today..brief impressions

EscapeRocks

Well, I found a nearby GC that had one on the floor to audition.

I took my in ears and a mini-to 1/4" adapter plug.

Keep in mind the following is all subjective.

Interface:

First, maybe it's because I'm used to Korg and/or Yamaha interfaces: I initially found the JP80 interface to be very unintuitive. When I first sat down, and turned on the machine, it came up in the last state it was left in, which is fine.

However it was some multi part sound (what Korg calls combi).

I wanted to start with a very basic piano sound, so I studied the board for a second, and found the "piano button" and pressed it.

Well, all this did was make the piano part of the multi timbral sound.

Okay, how to turn off all the other crap and just get one sound.

I am not a stupid person, and can work my way around workstations and synths. For the life of me, though, I could not find a simple procedure to get back to one sound (registration?) covering the entire board.

Finally, after much monkeying around, I got it. Then I made the mistake of pressing a button in the "solo" section...I think Oboe. That was cool. Good sounds. Now then, how the hell do you turn it off? I dunno.

The touch screen I like very much. Easily readable, and offers many controls and views. While I am totally comfortable with the Kronos touchview screen, the Jupiter 8 is much easier to read without glasses :)

I'm sure the overall interface isn't that bad, but unlike other complex boards I've owned, it will take some manual reading/study to get it all down.

The layout of all the hardware controls is good and felt solid.

Only thin I was missing was a number pad to call up a specific sound directly.

Build: