Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard for a beginner (not the usual question)

Ricardo.

Let me start by saying I'm a guitar player (4 years) who plans for at least a minor in some music field (probably theory) and I've been piano-playing for about five months now. And, I have no great appreciation for synths.

I have no relatives to have handed off a vintage piano to me (except for those who keep them in the living room as furniture) and at home I play on a toy piano I got on some early birthday. Probably $20 from Wal-Mart.

Anyways, my actual question begins here :) I'm looking for something under $100 that can deliver a good piano sound (acoustic) and possibly a midi/USB connection. And getting an actual acoustic upright piano isn't an option :'(

Hope I introduced myself somewhere in there :)

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Pretty much every keyboard has midi these days, but a keyboard with a good piano sound for under $100? Don't mean to discourage you, but that just ain't gonna happen. A "good piano sound" is something us piano/keyboard players are constantly searching for and spending hundreds (more likely thousands) of dollars on. For a keyboard with a good piano sound, $100 might get you the cardboard box it came in. :)

You'll really have to up your budget to at least the $300-500 range to even get one of the low-end boards with a "decent" piano sound.

Search here under "Radio Shack". They rebadged a recent and rather good-for-the-price Casio model (CDP100?) and they have been selling like hotcakes. $299 I think.

Gig keys: Hammond SKpro, Korg Vox Continental, Crumar Mojo 61, Crumar Mojo Pedals

Originally posted by Bridog6996:

A "good piano sound" is something us piano/keyboard players are constantly searching for and spending hundreds (more likely thousands) of dollars on. For a keyboard with a good piano sound, $100 might get you the cardboard box it came in