Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help me choose an electric piano!

daveyboy909

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and I really dont know alot of technical jargon about electric pianos. Im 17 and I've been playing the piano for about 5 or 6 years and I have only ever had a regular acoustic piano but now i've started a band and i'm looking for my first electric stage piano. The Roland RD700 sx was recommended to me but I think it's a bit too pricy (also, the guy who recommended it has a deal with roland!). The yamaha S90es also seemed a bit expensive. Really, I'm looking for something under £1000 ($1755), but I still want really good quality piano sounds and a realistic piano feel along with decent organ sounds and hopefully some good other synth kind of sounds for a couple of dance songs my band do on top of the usual beatles and travis stuff lol.

What about models like the yamaha p90 or the roland rd700 or the roland rd300 sx - would you recommend any of these or are there any others that you would recommend? I don't want an inferior model because I dont want to wish I had waited and saved for something better once i buy something.

Would I be as well to just save and fork out on the RD700 sx or the 90ES?

Id really appreciate some help with this.

Cheers

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi, and welcome to the Corner! :wave:

Personally, I didn't like the action on RD300SX and the P90 won't give you "decent organ sounds" nor "other synth kind of sounds."

Check out prices on an S90. Since the S90ES came out, stores are getting rid of their S90 stock at some great prices.

The S90 has superb action and great sounds - plus its completely expandable so as your tastes change, you can download new sounds or add new hardward expansion boards.