Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Is this a generational thing? Gig songs provided in playlists only.

obxa

I’m a free agent. Disclaimer: also boomer.  

Most folks I work with don’t send Mp3s (or links to them) anymore- it’s Spotify/Apple playlists.  Originals and cover bands. 

Pit /Show and Oldies circuit are still doing Dropbox/G-Drive live show files of audio & charts.     Churches: Planning Center, but now getting streaming playlists from a few.

I use Forsore.  Like to have Mp3s with the charts to learn the show.   Until I got a Spotify to Mp3 convertor, was taking longer to collect material than rehearse it.  Great for car listening,  but learning not so much.

Asked some younger cats in few of the bands:  they say they just learn the gig on the streaming app player.  I find those players clunky.  Especially if needing to transcribe and make charts.    Like being able to tune/transpose or slow down the track.  I do welcome progress.  Old enough to remember when we were given CDs....and Cassettes! 

Are you seeing this too??   Like using the streaming apps, or old-school?      Not a rant, just genuinely curious. 

Chris Corso

www.chriscorso.org

Lots of stuff.

It depends on who my collaborators are, but making a Spotify playlist is often the easiest way, rather than having people click through a bunch of Google Drive or YouTube links while they are driving their car.

Though again, depending on who's in the project, sometimes it's just a mess of download/YouTube links, because if you don't have a premium version, you're stuck listening to ads or truncated versions of tunes.