Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hey Notes Norton, You Doin' OK There in the Florida Keys?

I've gigged in the Keys, grew up near Fort Lauderdale (Pompano Beach), but I live in Fort Pierce now. It's on the east coast, about even with the north side of the big lake in the middle of the state (Lake Okeechobee).

Thanks for your concern, I'm doing just fine. My major problems are light: I lost 2 gigs, I lost a few tree branches, quite a few palm fronds are down, and I have a big mess to clean up. I got lucky and missed the brunt of this. It's still windy, with gusts to 85mph, but that's nothing like sustained 155mph.

Growing up in Florida, I have a lot of observational experience.

• Get drop-down, aluminum awnings for your windows, and storm panels for everything that an awning doesn't work for. The awnings convert to storm protection for about 2 minutes each. Plywood is a PITA, takes too long to put up, and sometimes hard to get. Living in a hurricane zone, owning shutters is like having a spare tire on your car. You may not need it, but if you do, you will be glad.
  • Never buy a house either on the barrier island, or on low-lying land. 90% of the homes here were built on land that was swamp for all or part of the year. When we get a lot of rain, they want to return to swampland. Oceanside, I saw about 1/4 mile of barrier island disappear when I was young. The hurricane took it and everything on it. They tried to dredge sand and replace it, but the loose sand was taken away by a few high tides. As much as I'd love to live on the water, I won't. I live on the Eastern Sand ridge, 32' above sea level, I call it The Florida Alps. Water rolls downhill, and if we get a 32' storm surge, we are all gone