Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

New “B” Rig – with similar (old) keyboards

Moonglow

With the recent threads about folks assembling downsized/backup rigs, I thought I’d join the fun!

I’ve been playing out with a Kronos 88 and a Jupter-80 for over ten years, but recently decided to develop a dedicated “B” rig. My primary motivation was having several gigs on the calendar (e.g., backyard house parties, beach parties) where I needed a rig that was considerably more lightweight, easier to transport, and less hassle to set-up and tear down. I’ve been using my long-time/A-rig with three cover bands for a number of years so another concern was maintaining a consistent sonic palette among the two rigs, as well as maximizing programming efficiency.

Below are pictures of the new B-rig and my A-rig for comparison purposes. I’ve had the Kronos 2-61 for a few years; the Jupiter-50 represents a fairly recent acquisition from brother Dave Doerfler. :wave:Not pictured, with the B-rig I either use our band’s monitoring system or my venerable Barbetta SE-32, the latter of which fits nicely in the passenger seat of my Honda Accord. :cool:

There are some substantial limitations/compromises involved with the B-rig. I mostly miss having a weighted action for piano, less overall keys, the Ventilator for organ programs, and the JP-80’s touch screen. I’m also not crazy about having the JP-50 on the upper tier but the same programs (many involving splits) are mapped to the same physical locations across the keys in both rigs, which helps with cognitive and muscle memory when switching back and forth between the two rigs. I occasionally have to use a couple of Setlist slots with the B-rig for songs where I previously only needed one (more real estate on the K-88).