Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Question about Viscount Legend Live

Hi everyone, in the last couple of days I've thought about buying a clonewheel organ for my dad who's close to retirement and has been in love with Hammond for as far as I know. I play piano and guitar and but I'm fairly new to organs so in these last days I've searched a bit to understand which could be the best choice to buy. Main thing I'm looking for is a clonewheel organ who can best replicate the sound of a Hammond B3 and I've finally rounded up my choices to 2: Viscount Legend Live and Crumar Mojo. Now, I know these are both incredible instruments and as far as I've understood most differences are mainly related to personal preferences, but I wanted to ask people with experties some personal opinions about it. I'm personally in love with the Viscount Legend Live and righ now I'm leaning towards choosing it over the Crumar, which on the other hand has also some acoustic piano sounds so it's not strictly just an organ simulator. I've also come across the GSi DMC-122 and I really liked that model too. Another issue is what kind of amplification to use: I've spoken with Thomann customer service and they suggested me to buy a Yamaha HS 8 stand bundle (this) What do you think of it? And, overall, what do you think would be the best choice for a clonewheel organ setup considering that I want to keep it in the 3000 budget maximum? Thank you very much for your time.

• Replies 48
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

hi, the dual manual crumar classic does not have any non-organ sounds iir, no piano tones, so don't let that be a factor in your decision.

i made a few videos about the legend, see link in signature if you want to see my take on it. more vids to come.