Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Metronome

Dave Ferris

I started practicing again with the metronome after a pretty long time away from it. I mostly use it for up tempo jazz soloing ( normally starting at 132 and above = half note) with the typical 2 & 4 click.

One thing about my older battery powered Matrix MR-600, I often struggle to hear the click when I put the lid of the D on half or full stick. Plus it seems the 9 volt battery looses its juice pretty quick, thus taking the volume down even lower. Basically the Matrix is a battery eater.

I used to have an electric Franz that was great and PERFECT in every way but it finally died about 10 years ago --fairly certain I wore that sucker out..lol Unfortunately the company went the way of free lance musicians making a living from playing music. :(

I see the Franzs on ebay going for around $25-40 which I guess I could take leap of faith on at that price. But it would be nice to have something newer that will function well for a long period of time.

Going digital, I know there's the popular Boss Dr. Beat ( and I understand it's LOUD) but pretty sure it's over kill for a simple click. So wondering if anyone has run into something a little cheaper in addition to having a more traditional metronome footprint that would sit easily on the piano. Again electric is preferable to battery powered. Thanks.

https://soundcloud.com/dave-ferris

https://www.youtube.com/@daveferris2709

2005 NY Steinway D, Yamaha AvantGrand N3X, CP88, P515

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Have you tried any of the metronome apps? I swear by mine. I even have one that will flash different colors for different beats, for alternate ways of "feeling" the click.

That said...I know the Korg MA-30 is pretty popular, and is also cheap.

Now out! "Mind the Gap," a 24-song album of new material.
www.joshweinstein.com

Yeah I figured the Dr. Beat would be top rated.