Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Slightly OT: arranging for horn section

stoken6

Some ex-bandmates of mine are looking to put together a R&B/soul band featuring a horn section. We have alto, bari and trombone confirmed, and hoping to add a trumpet.

Does anyone have any advice on resources for arranging for horn section in this context? (I've done the usual Svengling)

Specifically - I'm a little concerned about a clash between trombone and bari sax, given similar register/"comfort zone".

Cheers, Mike.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no horn expert, but have played some funk w horn section.

'bone and bari cover a lot of the same ground. They are often used differently, though, think of the bari stabs in Greg Adam's arrangements for Tower of Power (at least, I think it was Greg Adam's who did those arrangements...someone please correct me if not).

I personally find trumpet and tenor more pleasing in a small section than trumpet and alto, at least for ensemble parts. Trumpet and alto in an exposed section can tend to be shrill to my ear. Have done a little writing for trumpet / tenor / 'bone and have usually liked the results. Losing the 'bone of course you lose some heft and depth, but not so much that the ship sinks under the waves.

In fact, with a full R&B rhythm section (keys, drums, bass and guitar), I've gotten by with trumpet / tenor quite well. You get the sense of a real horn section, lots of the iconic parts (September, This Time It's Real, Give It To Me Baby, etc.) sound represented...without having too many mouths to feed...something to think about if you're planning to play to make money. Of course, adding 'bone or bari provides that muscular lower octave - but do the math and see what normal hiring rates are in your area...