Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard amp for organ and piano

MarKeys

First let me say I'm relatively new to gigging, and so far -- gear-wise -- i've made all the mistakes in the book. I started with crappy used stuff, and upgraded to some better used stuff. Lately I've been trying to find the perfect keyboard with organs and piano sounds, but now I'm realizing that the old amp I'm using is probably as much the problem as anything. Certain notes on whichever keyboard I try come across as harsh and brittle as Miley Cyrus at a wake. But I'm on a budget, so any ideas for a solution that's in the $400 range? I'm in a bar band, so my playing is in the mix, not solo gigs or anything. Thanks, everyone.

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are tons of posts on this topic ... and I think you'll find that the general consensus is that the most common solution is to go with a powered speaker. Virtually every manufacturer (JBL, QSC, EV, Yamaha, etc.) have products in this space. Unfortunately, you won't find any consensus on which powered speaker is "the best". Many of the offerings in this product space will be out of reach with your $400 budget - however, there are still some pretty good options that would fit your wallet (especially if a 10" speaker (as opposed to a 12" speaker) will fit your needs and/or if you're willing to consider used gear. But even if you want to stick to new - EV's ZLX112P is right in your price range. A relative newcomer in this space that I'm dying to hear is the Turbosound Milan. The 12" version is a closer to $500 than $400 ... but perhaps another unit to consider.

The SpaceNorman :freak: