Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Transitioning from Rock to Jazz

Jason Stanfield

Thanks in advance for any advice here.

I've been playing in a couple of rock/jam bands for a few years, and I've taken my leave of one of them (because drama). Having not played consistently for several years before, being in these bands has given me the opportunity to "work out" and develop some technique.

Now that I've got some more time on my hands, I want to get into jazz piano, namely accompanying a female singer first with just piano, then with a small combo. I imagine we'll do some torch songs, a few lightweight standards, perhaps some pop or R&B ballads, trip hop EP stuff, etc., but all that remains to be worked out.

I know, though, I can't approach playing this material with "Billy Joel chops," so I'll need a lot of workout to at least be passable in a few months. I plan on doing a lot of listening, transcribing, and am getting back into lessons to develop some fundamentals I left behind while punching the keyboard for 3 years.

Has anyone done this? If so, what can you recommend I focus on to get where I'm going?

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I kinda did the same thing some 20 years ago.

Seems you have your head on straight about what you're going to undertake, so that's a big help. Given what you want to achieve, I would recommend listening to as many fairly straight-ahead players as you can. For vocal accompaniment I found Tony Bennett's pianist Ralph Sharon very helpful. He always keeps the melody in sight and he has a light swing touch that is very cool. Other great players to check out include Red Garland, Wynton Kelly and Barry Harris, just for starters.