Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Free Ride keys?

llatham

Long time guitarist. Keyboard hobbyist who's been thrown into a band where my woeful keyboard abilities are being called into play! It's not really that bad, but I'm still learning to figure out keyboard parts on keys - which doesn't have the 30+ year advantage figuring out guitar parts on guitar has for me!

What kind of instrument/sound is the backing riff on Free Ride? Clavinet?

Would anyone be willing to share what he's playing - from accurate transcription to bare-bones sketch - I mean, I know the chord progression, and the "riff" part of that key bass line but it's harder for me to figure out stuff like what the LH is doing behind chords, etc.

TIA,

Steve

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I play clavs through most the song. When the song was in the setlist on a consistent basis I carried an old analog synth I used for the breakdown I think it was sine wave and sub ocillator tone and noise with some portomento.... Heck I don't know what I did but it sounded like the record.

Now I just use a Motif noise patch on Zone 2 which doesn't sound like the record but it is cool.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

I play keyboards in my soul band and second on guitar, and I play guitar on this. Two guitar parts are way more important than the keyboard part. (Our trombone player sits on clav for this, but I've given up trying to get him to play the clav part rather than doubling the rhythm guitar part.)

It's a high part; IIRC it's panned a bit to one side, which helps pick it out. It's very similar to the rhythm guitar part, but with different direction of motion and quite a bit higher.