Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Collecting my Kurz SP4-8 today!

• Replies 23
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm hoping to upgrade from my SP4-7 to this...my SP4-7 had the 'sticky keys' problem that someone else mentioned. It was an odd thing, just a sort of resistance to the key depressing right the top of the action. But v annoying.

I've been told if they can't fix it at the factory I can upgrade!

ok, initial thoughts:

The keys are really excellent, great feel, nice action - I took to them straight away.

The sounds are very good, there are some really great useable sounds in there.

Its fairly heavy, I was using an old Technics P-30 and the SP4-8 seems to be around the same weight..........but hey, I'm a drummer at heart, karting equipment around doesn't bother me!

The build quality is good, initially the plate around the pitch/mod wheels would rattle while playing but I found that it was because I didn't have the rubbers on my stand lined up so the board wasn't sitting flat.

On slightly closer inspection (I haven't spent a great deal of time with it yet):

I don't think i've found my 'go to' piano sound yet, I think I need to do some tweaking - the piano sounds available all seem a bit 'wet' to me and could also be a little brighter - They probably sound great in a classical context but I'm looking for a closer sound for wat I need. I'm sure I'll be able to configure that as the samples that are there are great.

I managed to brighten up the CP-70 patch and save that as user patch, but I did this purely by accident, i'll have to figure out how I did that!