Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Went to buy a Yamaha P95 and came home with a Korg SP250

B3_borne

I gave my old DP to the grandkids for Xmas (4&6) .. I wasn't gigging with it anymore because it was just to dam heavy. So I've been looking at light weight 88 DP's for a couple of months.

Casio PX 130 that I played sounded good on AP but the EP's sucked ... keybed action was ok, it also didn't have a line out ... had to use the headphone jack and sum it to mono.

Yamaha P95 that I played had nice keybed action and I thought the sounds were quite good but I didn't spend much time with it. I was also reading that the Yamaha P series has had some problems with keys sticking (broke)... it also had the headphone jack and sum it to mono for an amp. But the price and weight was right

So I went to Long and McQuade this weekend to look at the P95. The sales man powered it up and I started playing. I liked the AP sounds but when I started attacking the keys on the EP sounds they went from a nice warm sound to some cheese snyth'y sound that just killed for me. I felt it also lacked variation on the sounds 2-AP's & 2-EP's and 1-Clav ... Strings and Choir

So I sat down in front of this Korg SP250, the weight was about 10lbs more (I can handle that) than the P95 it was mark down (floor model) on price so it was only $100 more than the P95 and it came with a stand and a real damper petal. I start playing it and it spoke to me .. love the sounds on the AP's(2x3), EP's (2x3) Clav (3) ... Strings and Choir. The keybed action is a little stiffer the the P95 but it OK ... I can live with it ... so I now own a SP250 Korg .. :)

SK2 /w Mini Vent / XK3 Pro System /w 142 Leslie, Roland D70, Korg SP250 B3 1959 (retired) , Porta B (retired), XB2 (retired)

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I start playing it and it spoke to me ..

I couldn't ask for more than that!