Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Stereo DI's - Quality???

loxley11

So I'm looking at some stereo Direct boxes to make life easier for the sound guy when we gig. Of course guitar center wants to sell me the $150 Radial, when there are models around for about $50. While I realize the Radial and its counterparts are better quality than the alternatives, am I really gonna notice the difference playing in a noisy bar at high volume with the typical mediocre equipment one finds in a bar sound system? I'm guessing not, but then I have very little experience with DI's and salesmen will only try to sell the most expensive item instead of actually telling you what's best in your situation...

loxey11

"Everyone has a plan until they get punched in the face"

-Mike Tyson

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've used all kinds of cheaper DI's. The difference is much bigger than you would imagine. I currently use the rackmount 8-channel Radial DI (keys, click, kick, snare, toms, Drum FX, Sax, R. GT). I finally had enough of the others and decided it was time to buck up, and I've been glad I did. They are superior in the following ways:

1) Noise: never have ground loop issues anymore - was constantly fighting them with others.

2) Build Quality: Built like a tank, I've had Jacks break and everything else on others

3) Sound quality: a little more subtle, but you will likely notice the difference.

As a side note that won't apply in your case - each channel has summing inputs, as opposed to the direct wired parallel 1/4" in's. This means I can safely plug 2 keyboards into a channel and mix w/main volumes. It's intended to sum stereo sources to mono, but works well for 2 mono keys.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.