Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A list of the "Must know" rock keyboard songs

payperclick

I am somewhat new to keyboard playing and would like to build up a repertoire of some essential all around rock songs that most contemporary keyboard players would find themselves playing frequently in gig and jamming situations. Songs like Gimme some lovin, superstition, born to be wild, hard to handle, highway star, roadhouse blues etc. I have tried to google this type of thing without much success. If someone knows of such a list in existence like "the 100 greatest rock keyboard songs of all time" or similar please let me know. If not, than perhaps it would be beneficial to get some opinions. I am thinking along the lines of rock songs that are primarily centered around traditional classic keyboard sounds like organ, piano (ep), clav.

• Replies 80
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the reply it is a good suggestion

I have looked at several music books and have a few myself but it seems most are watered down and omit some of the most poular and obvious tunes because of copyright restrictions or copyright costs. Each book seems to throw a few decent bones and than the rest of the tunes are kinda lame or are too eclectic. I was hoping to get more real world expereinced feedback without the political or economic bias that a publisher might face. Maybe I haven't found the right book yet.

I once heard someone contend that "Foreplay" by Boston is the keyboard counterpart to "Eruption" by Van Halen. Not sure if this is true, but I'll run with it nonetheless.

"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."

- George Bernard Shaw

I once heard someone contend that "Foreplay" by Boston is the keyboard counterpart to "Eruption" by Van Halen. Not sure if this is true, but I'll run with it nonetheless.

Well, at least you've got them in the correct order.... :D