Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Non isolating/ non noise cancelling earbuds/iem

I'm thinking of improving my self monitoring at gigs. I'm new to iems and dont want to feel isolated. I would be monitoring right off of the output of my ipad via a y-cord not from a monitor mix. So I'm thinking that sound leakage from the room would be a good thing. I'm not looking to get my monitoring from the iems only, just an enhancement. Anybody have success using sub $50 earbuds for this sort of thing?

FunMachine.

• Replies 10
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I don't use earbuds, but, sure, I do this all the time -- usually when I'm not allowed to use an amp or a monitor on stage. Instead of earbuds, I prefer on-ear headphones; YMMV. Those are the kind of phones where the cups are smaller and don't envelope your whole ear; plenty of leakage from whatever is going on "in the room", sound-wise.

Legend '70s Compact, Jupiter-Xm, Studiologic Numa X 73

For gigs where I don"t need to attenuate stage volume I often use earbuds.

First, I mean the kind of earbud that sits in the cup of your ear like the original buds I got with an iPod years ago. These should be hard plastic so they let in all the sound around you. They don"t go in your ear canal and they"re not rubbery. You basically hear everything around you as if you weren"t wearing them. I don"t think the audience even registers that I"m wearing them.

Next, since I sing and play, both my vocals and keys go into a small cheap Mackie mixer. The keys come in as a stereo pair. For my own powered speaker (which provides sound for the band and the audience), I feed a mono signal. Yes, I purposely don"t play in loud situations.

From the mixer headphone jack I get my STEREO keys and mono vocal. I think I"m typically adjusting the earbud level so I"m hearing my own parts about 6dB hotter than everybody else, and this is exactly what I want.