Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Lyrically Rhythmic

Suss

Hi Guys,

More than anything in music, I believe we musicians should always remember that individual efforts, expressions and performances are only one facet in an overall team effort whether on stage or in the studio.

I am not a proficient keyboard player since I recoiled from being force fed that discipline by my parents when I was younger. Instead, Im a drummer who appreciates the melodious aspects of music above simply bashing out a groove or seeking to make a name for myself. Ive always believed that the gifts of a man will make room for him and brings him before great men.

While monitoring another thread here [is it too early to talk about KC Comp Volume 12?], I was asked the question does a good drummer think lyrically as well as rhythmically? Is there room to breathe?

Gangsu admitted I've been thinking about drummers a lot lately, actually. Wondering why they make me feel like I have to straighten up and toe the line. I don't think my rhythm is that bad. I like to imagine it doesn't have to be that way, that machine-like precision is not the greater skill.

http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/ultimatebb.php?/ubb/get_topic/f/18/t/019132/p/9.html#000285

Gangsu, you raised a very good point that I often discuss among drummers on Billy Cobhams website [ http://www.billycobham.com ]. Namely discerning the difference between pulling out all the stops when appropriate and shutting most of them down when appropriate. In other words, a real drummer thinks BOTH lyrically and rhythmically; that drummer thinks MUSICALLY both in concept and application! I think that is what separates the good from the bad, regardless of the instrument being played.