Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Microphone - Does it matter what kind?

ATVRacer

I bought 2 cheapo's from Guitar Center. I think they were buy one for $29 and get one free.

After testing them out, it seems that I have to hold them very close to my mouth and almost scream to get the sound up. I have all my levels up pretty high too, but I'm sure I could go higher.

Just wondering if buying better microphones would improve the mic volume and clarity. Does it really matter what type of mic I use?

Any recommendations on which mic I should look at?

I have a Mackie DFX6 mixer that I'm plugging into.

Thanks!!!

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not a mic expert but mics are made for all kinds of purposes ... and you've learned that you only get what you pay for.

Sound On Sound, a British sound magazine, just had a feature issue all about mics. Go to your library and check that issue out. I always bring along a Shure SM58 as a general purpose vocal\announcing mic. (I always wished I would have bought a SM58 with its own on\off switch as it gets to be a pain to use the mixer for that purpose.)

If you buy a condenser mic that uses phantom power, you have to be sure that your mixer can supply that power. The field of microphones is probably more open and complex than all of our discussions of the best digital piano.

No guitarists were harmed during the making of this message.

In general, harmonic complexity is inversely proportional to the ratio between chording and non-chording instruments.

The lecturer on the studio production course I did told us that SM58 is great for male vocals and SM57 are primarily for instrument miking but also work well with female vocals, as they have a higher top end response.

Steve Tyler uses a '58 for his screaming vocals as the expensive studio mics are too clinical!