Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Nord Stage...AND RD700SX

mooghead

Hi guys...it seems the Nord Stage is a piece which is being talked quite a lot these days.

My present set-up is made of a Roland RD700SX with orchestral and vintage expansions on the lower tier and a Nord Electro 73 on the upper tier. I use a Quiklok Stand, the Monolith M-92. I play seated because I tend to use pedals a lot.

I'm pretty satisfied by this combination but...

but sometimes I feel I lack "keyboard space" and even if I split the Roland as much as possible I find my self changing presets and active zone much too often, both on the Clavia and Roland.

Maybe a Nord Stage would be the solution: multitimbrality, larger keyboard, basic sinth sounds (I'm not a programmer).

Thus I could piano on the Roland and organ+lead on the Nord; or Piano+Pad on the Nord to make better use on Roland orchestral sounds...

Nord Stage+expanded RD700SX would make for a killer set up...capable of anything.

Just 2 doubts:

- is the weighted keyboard of the Nord really suitable for organ playing? I play lots of organ parts, but I'm more of a piano player, not really an organ player.

- are 18 kilograms too much for a second tier of such a stand as the Quiklok Monolith?

I'm eagerly awaiting for Stage users' opinions :wave:

Ciao :wave:

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am not a Stage user, but I think that your setup is already optimal as it is so...

"don't go changing!"

Ciao!

Korg PA3X Pro 76 and Kronos 61, Roland G-70, Integra 7 and BK7-m, Casio PX-5S, Fender Stratocaster with Fralin pickups, Fender Stratocaster with Kinman pickups, 1965 Gibson SG Standard

I would keep the rig that you have and be very happy with it. Even though the Stage is lighter than many 88-note keyboards, I doubt you would be very happy gigging with two 88-note instruments.