Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Garth Hudson, The Band, Lowery, and other trivia

Bartolomeo

I have been a big fan of The Band since before I had any serious interest in keyboards.

In a recent thread on Lowery organs it came up that Garth Hudson played a Lowery Festival. Does anyone know why he would have chosen that rather than the now-legendary B3? I seem to recall that there were lots of electronic organs available during that era. Were any others seen much on stage, or heard in recordings?

This was all before my time, so I've got to ask.

Bartolomeo

• Replies 27
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'm not an expert on Lowery organs, but at the time (late '60's) I recall reading that the Lowery was better at pitch bending (I think by momentarily shutting it off?)... and he did a lot of odd pitch things in his playing. Our band is starting to do Chest Fever, and I'm struck by how artful he was with those little pitch hiccups.

Kurzweil PC4; Yamaha P515; EV ZXA1s

You can pitch bend the B3 down by shutting off the power for a couple of seconds, and pitch it up by engaging the "start" switch when the tone wheels are already running full bore.

Another piece of Lowery trivia I've never bothered to research is about the keyboard part that begins "Baba O'Reilly" a.k.a. Teenage Wasteland, by The Who. I've been told that was done using some kind of percussive repeat function on a Lowery home organ.

On Santana's "Welcome" album (some people call it their White album), the first track (title track too) credits a Yamaha Electone organ, and I presume that's what that rich, phasey, nothing-like-a-Hammond wall of sound is on that tune.

Stephen Fortner

Principal, Fortner Media

Former Editor in Chief, Keyboard Magazine

Digital Piano Consultant, Piano Buyer Magazine

Industry affiliations: Antares, Arturia, Giles Communications, MS Media, Polyverse

Originally posted by Stephen Fortner: