Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Hello

shniggens

Greetings everyone. Just thought I would take a second to introduce myself to the board. I have been playing piano for about ten years and consider myself to still be an amateur. I have been classicly trained and I love to play classical music. I play on an Alesis QS8 which has more sounds than I'll ever use, but I like the piano sound, and the weighted keys. I play in a band that is still learning to adapt to each other, no doubt we are amateurs, but we have fun. I find it hard to communicate with my bandmates who don't know music theory, and they find it hard to communicate with me, who has a hard time playing by ear. Hopefully we will learn from each other. My musical idols/influences include:

Elton John (Captain Fantastic is the best album ever)

Frank Zappa

George Duke

Beethoven

Chopin

Bill Payne

Tommy Mars

I look forward to picking your brains! ;)

Amateur Hack

• Replies 31
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Welcome!

I have been playing piano and synths for exactly 30 years (this week! wow!) and I still suck. I'll use the excuse that for the majority of that time, I've spent much more time mastering the guitar and bass (though I still haven't succeeeded there either).

I also have a QS8 which I use as my main axe. And, out of your list, I also am a fan of Zappa, Ludvig Van and Chopin.

Anyway, again, welcome to the Corner. Hope you like it here.

- Jeff

Welcome.

Ahhh. First band. Get some recordings. You will remember these days for the rest of your life. 20 years later it will be fun to go back to the recordings and see how much you change.

Edit - Call me the typo king.

[ 12-06-2001: Message edited by: Rabid ]

This post edited for speling.

My Sweetwater Gear Exchange Page

Four words:

Funeral For A Friend.