Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

One keyboard!

newguy_dup1

I am a songwriter and starting as a producer, I am buying new gear for my studio. I use Digital Performer as my sequencer, but I need to buy a great workstation to use it for all my productions. I want to be able to sequence with a built in sequencer as well as with Digital Performer.

I am looking for great sounds, sounds, and more sounds. What should I buy as my only keayboard? I write pop music, ballads and R&B music.

Or should I buy a workstation and get a sampler as the EMU's, to get new sounds?

What should I do? because I am only going to buy one keyboard.

Need help!

AE

Alexis

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Originally posted by Chris100:

Sounds like you need a Triton.

Sounds like you need to go to a music store and play a bunch of instruments and see which one your ears and hands like.

Actually, I might be so bold as to suggest that unless you're going to be taking the keyboard on the road with you (or you have some other really compelling reason to get something with onboard sequencing), you will find that the onboard sequencer is redundant and a great deal less powerful than DP. You'll save a ridiculous amount of money if you lose the onboard sequencer - enough to basically buy your one keyboard and add a rack module and have double the sounds and polyphony - you can get a QS6.1 and a JV1010 and still have a bunch of money left over! Add an Electribe and a small mixer...you're still under the price of the Triton, and you have an extremely varied palette of sounds from which to choose.

Also, you'll get to keep your sequences if you ever decide to sell your synth.

My $.02,

dB

:snax:

:keys:==> David Bryce Music • Funky Young Monks <==:rawk: