Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Transposing a synths patch vs playing in a new key??

Rod S

Let me explain (bear with me since this is going to be long)

This has been in my head since I started learning. I remember my teacher's comments about the transposing function on synthesizers : "If I play a G, I have to listen to a G; I'll get confused if I play a G and a F comes out (synth, transposed Down 2 semitones).

Well, a friend of mine (yrs and yrs ago) had asked me to accompany her on piano (actually a piano patch in a synth) while she sang. During sound check she was having trouble singing in the key, so i had transpose down. I knew I was NOT going to be able to transpose the piece in my head as a played, so I hit the tranpose button. I pulled it off, but my playing felt cold, mechanical, and un natural since I found it distracting to play like that.

But then again, I hear stories about 'pro's' doing just that!. Not only pro's, but other people I know, who I always considered 'better' players. Example: In high school we started a cover band (luckly didn't last long) to cover jean michel jarre tunes. Two keyboard players and a drummer (ok, laugh it up). Well, during one of the songs (I think Rendezvous IV) we decide to do a finale where we raised the song up two semitones (over used trick?? http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif ), and while I just played it a key up, he chose to just transpose the keyboard (mind you, it was a ridiculous simple part in a simple song). This guy was an outstanding piano player (he was also the one who figured out most of the songs by ear so we could play). I remember being confused bout this at the time.

So here's the multi-part question: Can you play a part with the 'wrong notes' (keyboard transposed), would you, or would you just play at a different keys, and can you do that well (without re practicing the tune at the new key)?

Thanks for the input.