Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Perfect, Relative Pitch?

Bucktunes

I'm curious. How many of you have perfect pitch, and how many have good relative pitch? Or how about not quite perfect, but excellent relative? (I guess that would be where I fit.)

Secondly, how important is it to your playing to have perfect or relative pich? How do you use it to learn, memorize material? To improvise, compose?

Personally, I make my living as a player, so I consider my ears at least as important as technique. Especially when you're asked to play a tune you're familiar with, but never physically played. Of course, reading is also important, but that's another subject! http://www.musicplayer.com/ubb/smile.gif

Peace all,

Steve

This message has been edited by SWBuck1074@aol.com on 06-29-2001 at 05:09 PM

><>

Steve

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well, I'll just say I know I don't have perfect pitch...I have very good relative pitch (at least far better than most people I've played with).

Jeff Berlin said in a clinic that he wished he didn't have perfect pitch...he said perfect pitch really hurts when you're trying to play with a piano that's not A440 or when experimenting with different tunings. He's the only pro I've talked to who has to deal with Perfect Pitch...I came away feeling glad I don't have it after talking to Jeff.

I have excellent relative pitch, pretty good on perfect pitch. well, let me clarify: It USED to be pretty good. Not using it regularly will lessen the ability of anything.

I went to school with a girl that was exceptional in both. Just an amazing ear. (And a couple of other things as well. But I digress...) She just amazed me with what she could do. (With those ears, I mean!)

Setup: Korg Kronos 61, Roland XV-88, Korg Triton-Rack, Motif-Rack, Korg N1r, Alesis QSR, Roland M-GS64 Yamaha KX-88, KX76, Roland Super-JX, E-Mu Longboard 61, Kawai K1II, Kawai K4.

Damn computer is going nuts on me. Sorry