Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Your interpretation of the " footsteps dressed in red" in The Wind Cries Mary.

Hi everyone

I'm an English teacher in France. I am preparing a lesson about literary devices for a class in Highschool and have chosen to work on "The Wind Cries Mary" by Jimi Hendrix.

The main topic of my lesson is to bring the pupils to understand (beyond of course the mere lexical difficulties a French pupil may have) the use of metaphors and in particular the personification of objects as a way to alter the perception of the surroundings of the character.

I have been able to get a reasonable explanation to each verse of the song, except one that leaves me skeptical :

(in 1st stanza)

..."Footsteps dressed in red"..

Is there here a metaphor that seems obvious to a native English speaker, and that I am not able to figure out ?

Of course I have seen the progression from childhood to gloom and sadness but the "RED FOOTSTEPS" don't ring any audible bell to me.

Since my class is tomorrow and I expect one of my pupils to ask : " Sir, what's the meaning of ....." :( , I would appreciate your kind help on this one.

Thanks a lot and regards ;)

Alex.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

"After all the jacks are in their boxes

and the clowns have all gone to bed

You can hear happiness staggering on down the street

footsteps dressed in red

And the wind whispers Mary

A broom is drearily sweeping

up the broken pieces of yesterdays life

Somewhere a queen is weeping

Somewhere a king has no wife

And the wind, it cries Mary

The traffic lights, they turn on blue tomorrow

and shine their emptiness down on my bed

This tiny island sags down stream

'cause the life that lived is, is dead

And the wind screams Mary

Uh-will the wind ever remember

the names it has blow in the past?

And with this crutch, its old age, and its wisdom

it whispers no, this will be the last

And the wind cries Mary"

Alex,